Board of Directors

The Alumni Board of Directors (ABOD) establishes policies regarding the management and activities of the Alumni Association. Policy formulation is based upon recommendations and information provided by the Executive Director. The Alumni Board is composed of at least 12-18 members and six ex-officio members. Ex-officio members enjoy all privileges of directorship except the right to vote. Each director serves an and initial two-year term, with the option of serving an additional three subsequent one (1) year supplemental terms dependent upon approval of the Executive Council following annual evaluation of the director’s level of commitment. The Board meets once or twice annually to receive and review reports of the professional staff and committees to assure proper implementation of policies.

ABOD Bylaws

Executive Council

The Executive Council directs the overall programs, services and financial resources of the FHSU Alumni Association. The Council takes official action on behalf of the Board of Directors while the Board is not in session. It consists of not less than six (6) directors to include the President, Vice President, chairs of outstanding committees, one at-large member and the Executive Director. Unless the Board of Directors specifically directs otherwise, during the intervals between meetings of the Board of Directors, the Executive Council shall have, and may exercise, all the powers of the Board of Directors and the management of the business and affairs of the Corporation as provided in its bylaws.

Awards & Recognition Committee

The Awards and Recognition Committee is responsible to the Board of Directors for nominating alumni and friends of the university to be recognized or honored by the Association. The Association has for many years given special awards for achievement and service and continues to expand its awards program as new areas of achievement develop. Recipients are recognized at the Awards Banquet at Homecoming, at the University Holiday Party in December, at the Graduate and Faculty Brunch in May, and at the annual Board of Directors meeting in June.  Included in the Association's award roster are Alumni Achievement, Young Alumni, Distinguished Service, and Nita M. Landrum awards; Pilot (outstanding faculty member) and Torch (outstanding graduating senior) awards; Faculty and Staff Service awards, and the Chapter of the Year and Chapter Volunteer of the Year awards. The committee also serves as a nominating committee, which proposes a slate of officers and directors, according to the by-laws and policies of the Association, which is voted on by the current Board.

Finance & Operations Committee

The Finance and Operations Committee is responsible to the Board of Directors in matters relating to the fiscal integrity of the Alumni Association. The committee shall oversee preparation of the annual Alumni Association budget, all income and expenditure reports, and the investment of all assets currently available for investment, year-end reports relating to Association finances, the audit process, along with other financial duties that the Board of Directors deem appropriate. The investment portfolio will be diversified to provide reasonable assurance that no single security (investment) of class of securities (investments) will have a disproportionate or significant impact on the total portfolio.

Membership & Marketing Committee

The Membership and Marketing Committee’s primary responsibility is to connect with existing and future members through an effective membership program. The committee shall identify viable markets and produce tools to enhance alumni engagement and its ability to reach its overall goal. The committee shall consist of a chair, vice chair and equal representation of Board members.

Interested in giving back to your alma mater?  Consider serving on the FHSU Alumni Association Board of Directors.  Apply now!

Executive Council 2017-18

Mitch HallMitchell Hall

'05 BA Political Science
Owner, H2O Drilling LLC
Owner, Hall Family Land & Cattle, LLC
Finance & Operations Committee
Mike KoernerMike Koerner
(Vice President)
'00 BS Information Networking & Telecommunications/Media Studies
'05 MLS General Studies (INT)
Operations/Systems Manager, Eagle Communications
Finance & Operations Committee
Angela GaughanAngela Gaughan
'92 BA Communication (Journalism)
VISTA Project Specialist, Wichita State Community Engagement Institute
Chair, Awards & Recognition Committee
Ethan HarderEthan Harder
'05 BA Political Science
Field Technician/Safety Coordinator, Harder & Associates, LLC
Chair, Finance & Operations Committee
Betty JohnsonBetty Johnson
’80 BA Communication
President, Betty Johnson & Associates
Chair, Membership & Marketing Committee
Jennifer BrantleyJennifer Brantley, Ph.D.
(Member At-Large)

’93 BS Biology
Manager, Public Education, Envision, Inc., Wichita,
Vice Chair, Membership & Marketing Committee

Board Members 2017-18

Sandy BillingerSandy Billinger, Ph.D.
Roeland Park
'02 BS Physical Education/Gerontology
Associate Professor, KU Medical Center
Membership & Marketing Committee
Cathy DomschCathy Domsch
'99 BBA Management
Business Consultant & Facilitator, Bandura Plus
Finance & Operations Committee
Rich DreilingRich Dreiling
'69 BS Business Administration
Account Sales Manager, CD Custom Enterprises, LLC, Newton
Membership & Marketing Committee
Leo LakeLeo Lake
'57 BS Elementary Education
'61 MS Education Administration
Retired educator/Volunteer
Awards & Recognition Committee
Denise RiedelDenise Riedel
Overland Park
'86 BA Communication
Data management specialist, EMB Statistical Solutions
Awards & Recognition Committee
Roger SchiefereckeRoger Schieferecke, Ed.D.
'95 BA Communication
'98 MS Communication
Director, Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science, FHSU
Membership & Marketing Committee
Rob SchockeRob Schocke
Colorado Springs, Colo.
'11 BGS Business
Senior Implementation Analyst, VISA Inc.
Finance & Operations Committee
Richard “Dick” SelenskyRichard “Dick” Selensky
(Half Century Club President)
Shawnee Mission
’56 BS Technology Studies
'63 MS Education Administration
Retired educator and administrator
Awards & Recognition Committee
Richard 'Rich' SiekerRichard "Rich" Sieker
'77 BS Physical Education
'81 MS Physical Education
Sales representative, Eagle Communications
Membership & Marketing Committee
Mike Slattery Mike Slattery, Ed.D.
(Vice Chair, Awards & Recognition Committee)

'73 BS Social Science/Physical Education
'77 MS Education Administration (Secondary) and HPER
'89 Ed.D. Education Specialist (Superintendent)
Retired FHSU Professor, Education Administration
Awards & Recognition Committee
Lance TiltonLance Tilton
(Vice Chair, Finance & Operations Committee)
’09 BBA Marketing
Ag/Commercial Lender, ASTRA Bank
Finance & Operations Committee
David 'Dave' VossDavid "Dave" Voss
'80 BA Political Science
'82 MS Political Science
Network Development Manager for Centene Corp. Sunflower State Health Plan
Membership & Marketing Committee

Ex-Officio Members

Jason WillibyJason Williby
'07 BGS General Studies
President/CEO, FHSU Foundation
Awards & Recognition Committee

Emily BrandtEmily Brandt
President, FHSU Student Government
Membership & Marketing Committee
Curtis HammekeCurtis Hammeke
'85 BS Physical Education
'93 MS Physical Education
Director of Athletics, FHSU
Dr. Tisa MasonDr. Tisa Mason
President, FHSU