FHSU Collegiate DECA Team Excels

The FHSU's Collegiate DECA performance at the Collegiate DECA International Career Development Conference in Orlando, returned outstanding results. Of the nine competitors from FHSU, six were called to compete in the final round, and all of those ended up placing in the Top 10 in their event. 

Dr. Greg Weisenborn, chair of the Management and Marketing Department, said, "We are very proud of our students and the hard work they put in to achieving these results as representatives of Fort Hays State. Thanks go to the groups' advisors, Scott Jones and Michael Martin, for their assistance as mentors."


2nd Place - Entrepreneurship
Jessica Tormey, Derby
Tyler Thompson, Derby
Top 10 - Business Ethics
Jenna Braun, Victoria
Bryan Saindon, Ellis
Top 10 - Business Law
Jacob Kessler, Lakin
Zach Meyer, Hoxie
FHSU was also honored with the Presidential Passport Award and Jessica Tormey was honored with an individual Gold Passport. These are the highest awards presented by Collegiate DECA and honor individual or group service, involvement, innovation, integrity and teamwork.